Event Reviews2018-09-12T05:28:56+00:00

event reviews

All Categories
 
Event Reviews
 
Upcoming Events
 
Facts & Stuffs

Show Review | Company by JPAC

LSPR Teatro production - The King and I on opening night was captivating. As a person who has never seen their show before as well as the the first experience watching The King And I, LSPR Teatro was able to enchant me during the show with good execution.

December 29th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | The King and I by LSPR Teatro

LSPR Teatro production - The King and I on opening night was captivating. As a person who has never seen their show before as well as the the first experience watching The King And I, LSPR Teatro was able to enchant me during the show with good execution.

December 18th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Beneath It All by British School Jakarta

This production brought several repertoires of familiar musicals such as Dear Evan Hansen, Mean Girls, Heathers, Waitress, Be More Chill, etc. Although not with live music, casts are able to sing a song after song without technical problems.

September 24th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Kirana by Theatre Spotlight

Lifting up stories from current issues in the nation such as bullying, difference of social statuses, economical factors, egoism, as well as narcissism that has been a hot topic and has developed through a lot of the citizens of Jakarta nowadays, this musical cleverly mixed these issues up with contradictory positive traditional Javanese values.

September 24th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Next to Normal by JYPA

After their most recent show “Still Life,” JYPA is back again with another show that deals with mental health issues, the Pulitzer Prize winning Broadway musical “Next to Normal” by Brian Yorkey and Tom Kitt. The story revolves around the Goodman family, consisting of a depressed dad, a daughter who feels invisible despite her brilliance, and a mom who has been diagnosed with a bipolar disorder – but turns out that doesn’t really cover everything. The only thing that makes them similar is that they are all trying to do their best to “hold it all together,” despite the challenging condition that faced the family. For such a heavy story that addresses grief, depression, suicide attempt, drug abuse, ethics in modern psychiatry, and the underbelly of suburban life, “Next to Normal” sure was a lot to take, but still a fresh air to the musical landscape in Indonesia.

September 24th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Umma Kita by Skylite Musicals

Presented by SMA Labschool Kebayoran’s Skylite Musicals, Umma Kitathe Musical held their performance on Saturday 3rdAug 2019 at Teater Besar – Taman Ismail Marzuki. The show was performed in Bahasa Indonesia, including around 19 original songs which were accompanied by live band and orchestra.

August 16th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Arjuna by Sanskerta

A couple weeks ago, I got the opportunity to watch SANSKERTA : Arjuna, a musical performed by the student of Prasetiya Mulya Univerty at Ciputra Artpreneur. Inspired by one of the stories from the Mahabharata, SANSKERTA raises the story of the 5 pandavas in the perspective of Arjuna, picture the journey of finding his true identity as a true knight.

July 20th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Annie Jr. by HI Jakarta Production – May 12 Matinee

I could never forget all the songs from the beginning to end. But the show that was performed by HI Jakarta Production School has given me a new experience of watching this particular show while listening to the song. The one thing that was stuck in my mind was the time they brought a golden retriever onto the stage during the iconic number “Tomorrow”. And that was just one of many beautiful things that happened during the show.

July 19th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Annie Jr. by HI Jakarta Production – May 11 Matinee

Adapted from the Broadway musical sensation, Hi Production’s Annie Jr. allows for young talents to showcase their acting chops on stage. We had the chance to sit down and witness the performance of one of their performing groups and needless to say, the kids’ talents blew us away. Having seen quite a few musical theater performances before, I’m used to having a set of standards on which I can compare each performance and determine whether it is a good one. However, entering completely fresh into Hi Production’s Annie Jr., I was taken aback by how much each of these young kids were able to pull off in terms of the holy trinity of musical theater—acting, dancing, and especially singing.

July 13th, 2019|Event Review|

Show Review | Still Life by Jakarta Youth Performing Arts

Still Life is a musical that tells the life story of the Dutch painter Vincent Van Gogh. The Story focuses on his relationships with the people around him: His mentor Paul Gauguin, his brother Theo Van Gogh, his therapist Dr. Gachet and the love of his life, Marguerite Gachet.

July 12th, 2019|Event Review|

calendar

<< Jul 2020 >>
MTWTFSS
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

categories

recent posts

archives